In the beginning

With an Irish mother and an Italian father, it should come as no surprise that I was raised Catholic. From the Baptism through Confirmation, I’ve completed all of the holy sacraments, with the exception of Holy Orders and Anointing of the Sick. The latter will come sometime in what I hope is the distant future and the former, well, let’s just say that that one is not in the cards for me. Now, being raised Catholic is one thing, but being Catholic is entirely different, something I’ve only begun to understand in my fifth decade.

For the first time in my life I am not only practicing my faith, I am truly experiencing it; as a believer and as a Catholic. And there is most definitely a difference.

I decided it was time to really explore my faith; what I believe and why, how it impacts my life, the path I traveled to get here and where the path is leading. I’ve never been particularly philosophical, opting instead to take things as they come and deal with them. But as I get older, I find my self being more introspective. I start each day with an reading from A Mary Knoll Book of Inspiration, and spend a few moments reflecting on it. There are prayers I say every morning and, at several points during each day, I stop and recite the prayer of serenity, as its one that has give me a great deal of peace over the years.

More and more I find myself thinking about God, his plan for me and how I can live in a way that makes God, my wife and family, and me happy. I figure of I take care of the God piece the rest is a given.

Little by little, I’m discovering the answers and putting what I learn into action. The results have been startling. I have a sense on inner peace I’ve never known before. When I invite God into my head, my heart and my soul, a wave of warmth flows through my entire body. That’s what I call experiencing faith. Ant that’s what this blog is all about.

I don’t know if anyone will read it, but, if you do find yourself here, I hope you take something away from my words. They aren’t pretty and I’m not much for prose, but what I write here is from the heart, inspired by my faith in God and given as my gift to you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

